Nowadays, it is said that government should give financial support to people. However, people often argue about which group the government should give support to. Which of the following groups do you think is the most important for the government to support? Older people who no longer work (eg. those who are more than 70 years old); young families with small children; workers who have recently lost their jobs.

Undoubtedly, financial support plays a significant role in people's daily lives in many of the places where they work or play. Some people think that the government should provide young families with small children and workers who have recently lost their jobs with supporting funds, while others do not believe so. Both sides may have their own reason to support their views. If I were asked to choose one, I would say that the government should help older people who are no longer work. There are several reasons as follows.

First of all, older people older than seventy years old cannot work, so they cannot earn income. It means that without financial supports from the government, they cannot survive. Thus, the government give them some money, at least living expenses for subsistence, with the highest priority. An article in recent newspaper revealed some interesting findings about this. According to the Ministry of Welfare and Health, a majority of older people who are retired from their work responded that they had experience skipping their meals due to financial problems, and even some of them visit charities for begging some food. One of the purposes of the government is to make its citizens live without eating problems. I am not dismissing the importance of helping young families with small children and unemployed workers, but at least, they are able to make some money if they do their best while the older people could not. If the government helps the older people, they can survive without worries about eating, which is the basic requirement for human being.

In addition, helping older people will encourage young people to pay their taxes. Young people are worried about their future. If the government does not help the older people with the tax they are paying, they might think that the government will not be responsible for their livings in the future. It will cause the young people to avoid paying proper taxes. For example, Mihee, one of my friends, used to complain about the government because even though she paid a huge tax to the state government, nothing came back to her. However, she has changed after she knew that her grandparents were given a significant amount of money from the government. Her grandparents who no longer work was able to enjoy their eighties thanks to the financial support from the government. She realized the importance of tax system the government is running and now, she has a positive mind on her taxes, thinking that someday when she is old, the government will help her too. If the government do not use their money for the older, young people might think that their taxes are used for unimportant matters, thus leading to a complaint about the government's policy.