Which one of the factors do you think is the most important in terms of affecting the friendship?

1. always help each other

2. have same interests and views on important things

3. trust each other completely

Undoubtedly, friendship has a significant role in people's daily lives in many of the places where they work or play. Some people think that having the same opinions on important matters and completely trusting each other is important in maintaining a good friendship, while others do not believe so. If I were asked to choose one, I would say that helping each other is the most important value for having sound relationships with friends. There are several reasons as follows.

First of all, helping friends allows people to obtain trust and emotional bonding with friends. Commonly in society, people who receive help from others tend to trust the other and have a tendency to have a better feeling emotionally. Trust and bonding play key factor that affects friendship. For example, one of my friends, Moonsoo who lives in a distant province lost his father and his grandparents. Every time he had difficulty, I visited him by taking buses and trains. Even though it took me more than seven hours in one way, I managed to visit him to help. I did my best to help him all the time by giving him some money for the funerals and doing some rituals together. Even though we have different views on political things, we can say that we are best friends as always. If I had not helped him constantly, we would not have had such a strong friendship.

In addition, people can improve their friendship even though they have different ideas on important matters and completely do not trust each other. Moonsoo, mentioned in the above paragraph, has a different opinion on politics because he is more favor of the rightwing party while I am not. Once, he told me a lie about his family by introducing his stepfather as his biological father to me. But I really don't care about them in our friendship because I understand his positions. Moreover, he always helps me back when I had some important events in my life such as my marriage. He came to my marriage and sang a song to celebrate the event. I appreciate it a lot. As my experience shows that in friendship, there is nothing more important than helping each other always.

All things considered, the importance of helping each other anytime far outweigh those of having the same views and trusting each other completely in having a good relationship with friends. All in all, the influence of receiving and giving help cannot be overestimated in friendship.