When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

There has been heated debate over the issue of whether the students learn much more effectively when teacher assign project on which students must cooperate together than when they are asked to work alone. While there are good arguments for both positions, the following discussion will explain in detail why I agree.

First, students who do project together can learn much more effectively than they do not because it helps students to be well-balanced. While students do assignments, we can be exposed to certain types of information and knowledge about the world, through education at school as well as at home. The problem with this is that most of the information and knowledge is conveyed from one source’s particular viewpoint. Given this, in order to become well-informed, students need to learn about diverse knowledge from colleagues. Thus, it is much better to work assigned project together than to work alone. In my case, I did research project about space exploration by taking general subjects in university. At first, I thought it was the great achievements of the governmental space projects. However, after I worked together with my colleagues in my team, my perspective on these governmental projects could not be solely positive when I also learned from my other classmate the difficulty of exploring space and huge budget. Without the help of my team, I might have held a slanted view of what was going around me.

Moreover, cooperating with others when doing project allows students to get the latest knowledge, and thus be better-informed. Today’s world is evolving at a surprising speed. As a result, students may have difficulty understanding all of the changes and new discoveries that come out. Given this context, it is important that students try to keep current through interacting with others who help them to know about various aspect of the project’s subject. Therefore, solving problems and working together on projects is better way to learn more effectively. In a recent survey carried out Harvard University, nearly two third of students felt that they could update their knowledge and successfully change their old thought through team projects. It is no surprise that there has recently been a drastic increase in the number of students who prefer a class offering team project assignments.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that students learn better through working on project together than working alone. By doing so they can also avoid becoming biased and outdated. These two reasons both connect to our increasing need to recommend assign team project.