When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

There is no doubt that effective learning plays a decisive role in the students' future lifestyle and job. This often brings up a controversial question; how can students improve their understanding of the subjects and lessons? In my point of view, students benefit more from working in a group than working alone because they can share their information and do their tasks better and sooner. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my perspective.

Working in a group provides different advantages for the students such as sharing the information which brings effective and better understanding of the subject. That is to say, some students look at the project from specific aspect and the others consider the other facets of the issue. When they gather in a group, the students can put their ideas together. Hence, besides learning how to react to opposite viewpoints in a group, they learn how to think about different sides of the same problem. For example, there are several contributory factors in a laboratory experiment. Some students pay attention to environmental factors and the others know about the effects of materials exploited in the experiment. When the members of the group share their information, all students in the group learn about all factors. However, working alone deprives the students from gaining such a knowledge. Besides, the desired results of the test will not be achieved by the single examiner as a result of incomplete information.

Furthermore, teamwork increases the pace of the performance and learning. In fact, group work is the division of tasks between the group members and finally putting the parts of the puzzle together. As a result, the students obtain extra time to study the lessons and learn effectively. For instance, when I was at the university, the professor assigned an econometric project that we have to compare several growth theories in Iran. My friends and I divided the theories among ourselves and each one collected information about a particular theory. We did the project in less than a month while it took the whole semester for the other students that worked solely on the project.

In general, working on a project in a group provides the students with much more effective learning than working alone because it has some merits that makes the learning process easier and faster. In fact, students can exchange their information about an issue, consider the problem from diverse aspects and with different outlooks, perform the projects with higher speed, and reach the desired results in the project.