Which of the following should the government to spend money to benefit city or region most?

A. Providing more affordable housing

B. Decreasing air and water pollution

C. Attracting new businesses to the city or region

City development influences residents’ life highly, from the commuting to the satisfaction of daily life. Thus, the government considers it as one of the most important tasks, to provide residents a better living circumstance. Among all the choices, attracting new businesses to the city is what government should invest most in order to benefit the whole region.

Granted, providing affordable housing and eliminating environment pollution should be considered essential. In the metropolises, the rent per month for individuals may already be thirty percent of their income, leaving less money for the entertainment or food consumption. At the same time, bad air or water may induce health risks of all citizens, as there might be harmful minerals in the water and toxic chemicals in the air. Further, residents are less inclined to enjoy their life in such environment. Thus, both issues need to be solved. In fact, attracting new businesses to the city or region could not only solve these problems but also bring more opportunities and innovations.

Few would doubt that new industries could bring economic vitality to a region. Take financial companies for example. Their existence motivates the circulation of money, such as investments and loans. Through this process, other sections, like real estate, could develop new projects and further stimulate the opportunities for the whole city. As a result, residents will receive higher income and there will be more affordable housing units. Due to the new businesses; the original housing problem could be solved naturally without government aid.

Moreover, new businesses incur competitions, leading more innovations. Nowadays, technology is upgrading at an astonishing rate. The main reason behind is that globalization brings all innovators together and encourages them to surpass each other. When new businesses enter the city, they bring the technology already developed and make the old businesses be aware of the emerging challenges. To maintain their advantages, old business would also begin to innovate. At the same time, many innovative technologies are environment friendly: new energy cars, water filtration machines and even new methods of garbage landfills. The new technologies could benefit both the industry and the residents.

Although coping pollution and providing affordable houses are crucial for city development, the government should spend more money on attracting new business. Not only do new businesses bring vitality to the city’s economy, but they also offer innovation beneficial for all residents.