Do you agree or disagree with the statement: Scientific discoveries should be shared globally, and the government should not keep them as secrets.

Nowadays, as scientific researches develop at an astonishing rate, many countries have conflicts on sharing the results of researches. Some claims that sharing scientific improvements to the world benefits the whole human civilizations. In fact, scientific discoveries shouldn't be shared globally and government should utilize them as secrets in my opinion.

Considering the interest of the country, government could utilize the discoveries to enhance the power of nation as well as the economy. Once a new technology is invented, the discoverer is usually rewarded with patent for years. The patent aims to protect the benefits gained by the one who lead an improvement in scientific field. For example, Soviet Union used to grasp the most cutting edge technology of space exploration and passed many other countries. As other countries had conflicts with Soviet Union, they often evaluates the discoveries hold by Soviet and ended up with compromises. Further, since government need to hire new employees and more researchers, this increases the vigorousness of economy.

Moreover, keeping technology as secrets benefits the scientists. Few would doubt that scientists need incentives and motivations to explore further on researchers. If their results are shared worldwide and utilized by everyone, the significance of their contribution would be viewed less. Thus, as the researchers are likely be disappointed by the lack of attentions and rewards, they would be less passionate to do researches than before. When government support the local scientists with aids and propagation, they would feel acknowledged and become more willing to innovate. As a result, there will be further improvements of researches.

Granted, some believe that global scientists could be inspired by others' accomplishment and generate more improvements benefiting whole human civilization. Though the inspiration do make a great help of science development, the lack of knowledge protection actually harm the innovators and discourage inventions. Imagine that your discoveries spending huge amount of money and time could be used by anyone. Would you feel that your discoveries help yourself more than others? In fact, many would take the free rider of others' researchers and be less focus on their original ideas. Thus, the creativity of whole world is diminished.

Although sharing scientific results is a great way to inspire more researchers, it is still better for countries to keep their discoveries as secrets. Not only does this approach improve the power and economy of countries, it also encourage scientists to explore and generate more results.