Do you agree or disagree with the statement: Scientific discoveries should be shared globally, and the government should not keep them as secrets.

Nowadays, as scientific researches develop at an astonishing rate, many countries have conflicts on whether sharing the results of researches or not. Some claims that sharing scientific improvements to the world benefits the whole human civilizations. In fact, scientific discoveries shouldn't be shared globally and government should keep them as secrets.

Considering the interests of the country, the government could utilize scientific discoveries to enhance the power of the nation as well as its economy. Once a new technology is invented, the discoverer is usually rewarded with patent for years. The patent aims to protect the benefits gained by the one who lead an improvement in scientific field. For example, the Soviet Union used to grasp the most cutting-edge technology of space exploration and exceeded many other countries. As other countries had conflicts with the Soviet Union, they often evaluates the discoveries hold by Soviet and ended up with compromises. Further, since government need to hire new employees and more researchers, this increases the vigorousness of economy. At the same time, the breakthrough of scientific researches may result in a booming development of some certain fields, even a brand new industry, which would be of great benefits to the nation’s economy.

Moreover, keeping technology as secrets benefits the scientists. Few would doubt that scientists need incentives and motivations to explore further on researchers. If their achievements are shared worldwide and utilized by everyone, the significance of their contribution would be viewed less. Thus, as the researchers are likely to be disappointed by the lack of attentions and rewards, they would be less passionate to do researches than before. When the government supports the local scientists with aids and propagation, they would feel acknowledged and become more willing to innovate. As a result, there would be more improvements and progress of researches.

Granted, some believe that global scientists could be inspired by others' accomplishment and generate more improvements benefiting the whole human civilization. Though the inspiration does make a great help of science development, the lack of knowledge protection actually harms the innovators and discourages inventions. Imagine that your discoveries spending huge amount of money and time could be used by anyone. Would you feel that your discoveries help yourself more than others? In fact, many would enjoy being the free rider of others' researchers and be less focus on their original ideas. Thus, the creativity of the whole world is diminished.

Although sharing scientific results is a great way to inspire more researchers, it is still better for countries to keep their discoveries as secrets. Not only does this approach improve the power and economy of countries, but it also encourages scientists to explore and generate more results.