which one do you prefer before taking a vacation?

Reading about places online or discussing them with someone who has visited the proposed places.

Nowadays many people are interested in taking vacation on their holidays. They spend much money to visit new places in order to have a great time with their families. Given that the high expenditures of traveling, it is crucial to find a good destination which worth to spend time and money. But how do we find an appropriate place as a destination? There is no shortage of opinion on whether reading about places online or discussing them with someone who has visited the proposed places. Considering the increasingly extensive use of internet and online websites, some people are in favor of reading about the places online, others opine that online websites are not precise sources to rely on. In my opinion, discussing about places with someone who has visited there is more accurate than searching them online. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the main purpose of most of online websites is to make money and advertisement. They exaggerate in telling the features of a place and try to show it more beautiful and attractive than what it is in real. Moreover, online sources usually just write about good points of a place and they don't take to account its bad and weak points. My personal experience is a good example of this. Some years ago, I read about one of my country's city on internet. There were such interesting and attracting features of city that I became interested in visiting that city. It was written that this place has many interesting historical buildings, good weather, many stores and kind people. How much more I explore the internet, I became more enthusiastic to travel there. Finally, I visit there and found that all the things I had read on the websites just were advertisement and any of them were not accurate. For example, the weather of the city was really dry which made me feel headache all time I was there. There were just two or three historical buildings which were out of city and in mountains without a suitable road to drive and get there. As a result, I was disappointed and decided to come back earlier than I planned. If it weren't for the wrong information of the online websites, I wouldn't have had this bad experience.

The second reason for my opinion is that individual's experiences are more reliable. People usually consider same factors in their decisions. For example, many peoples' main concern before planning for taking a vacation is its expenses. Asking about expenses related to a certain place from people's who have visited there is a good source which is more close to reality in compare with online websites which try to underestimate the costs or inform about some discounts without any precise details of condition about getting those discounts, and as a passenger arrived there, they used to excuse that the date for getting discount is over and you are not eligible. It's certainly clear to see why I don't believe online information about the costs of travelling to certain place. For instance, before my travel to India, I can't forget how accurate details of expenditures one of my friends who had visited there told me. If I only relied on the online pages, I couldn't have afforded all my travel expenses.

To conclude, though some may prefer to explore the online websites to get information about their places of destination, after analyzing both sides of argument, I strongly believe that people's experiences are much reliable to take into account because they don’t advertise and have a more real estimation of the costs.