It is better to work for a business owned by someone you do not know than to work for a business owned by your family.

Undoubtedly, work plays a significant role in people's daily lives in many of the places where they work or play. Some people think that it is better to work for a business owned by your family than to work for a business owned by someone you do not know, while others do not. Both sides may have their own reasons to support their views. If I were asked to choose one, I would say that working for a family business is better. There are several reasons as follows.

First of all, working for a business owned by someone who we do not know makes people more competitive and efficient. Workers should think about their business owners because if they do not do their best at work and then they can be fired. However, if you work for your family, you may think that your family cannot fire you. This difference makes you competitive in the workplace. Take my cousin, for example. She, who was working at my aunt's Chinese restaurant, used to lazy and selfish. After the Chinese restaurant was closed, she started working at an Italian restaurant, but she soon got fired due to her lack of skills. She realized that she was not a good worker. Again, she got a job in another Italian restaurant and started doing her best at the workplace by spending more time thinking about how to make better foods more quickly and how to deliver foods in time. As a result, her boss made a decision to increase her salary as she became competitive and contributed to the business. If she had worked only for her mother's restaurant, she would not have improved her abilities for business.

In addition, working for a business owned by someone who we do not know helps people to broaden their social network, which could result in a better result in life. In the workplace, people who work for a business owned by someone people do not know can expose people to an environment where people can meet more diverse people, than a situation where people work with their family. Such widen social network may lead to new success in life. For instance, my cousin met diverse people associated with the fields of delivery, procurement, and marketing while working in an Italian restaurant. One of the acquaintances who she met while working in the restaurant suggested she start a new business. Since she was satisfied with her job, she rejected it. Instead, she introduced the acquaintance to her mother for starting her new business. Consequently, my aunt has opened a tea store that provides delicious teas at lower prices thanks to the supply from the acquaintance and the store is so successful so far. If my cousin had not worked in a restaurant owned by someone she did not know, her mother would not have had that success.

All things considered, I adamantly believe that the advantages of working for a business owned by someone who we do not know far outweigh those of working for a family business for the reasons I have mentioned above. All in all, the importance of who to work with cannot be overestimated in life.