Which one of the following do you think is the most important thing that parents should teach their children?

-Being helpful to others

-Being honest

-Being well organized

With the awareness of the importance of education, a great number of families place heavy emphasis on educating their children. Under this circumstance, it can not be denied that molding one’s character at the very young age can lead them to good people, and such a fact might mislead some impressionable people to generate the opinion that characters like honesty and being helpful should be taught during their childhood. However, this statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be scrutinized meticulously. As far as the effectiveness of study, living in a regular life and understanding of good character are concerned, I strongly hold the opinion that the education, involving teaching children how to be well organized, should draw parents more attention.

First and foremost, parents should divert more resources to teach children how to organize themselves as it helps them to study more efficiently. Take the case of my friend Jimmy, a typical student among us, who was taught to be more organized during his childhood. Jimmy was excel in managing his study, which means that he knew what courses should put more efforts.In the high school, Math was always the nightmare for most of students. To learn math well, he applied what he learned from parents when he was a child. As for him, more time was spent in the algebra, which is the most difficult part in high-school math, and less time was spent in the equations that was less puzzling. By doing this, he always got the highest grade in the examination. Had it not been his ability of being well organized, he would never manage his study so well and thus get high grade.

Secondly, being well organized helps children to live more regularly. To be more specific, after learning how to organize their lives, they can manage everything in a sequence in their life, like always keep their room clean, preparing for the next-day activities, doing sports to keep healthy every morning, etc. By putting everything in their life in a order, they can always being well-prepared instead of finishing them at a time. Eventually, everything can be finished in a order rather than chaotically.

A voice arises that being molded of good characters encourage to be good persons in the future. Ironically, this viewpoint is misleading. It is true that having a good character is of significance, however, they are too young to fully understand it. Specifically, not every situation requires children to be honest and helpful. Some people may be reluctant to get help from others and can not stand others who point out their faults honestly, as they might think they are looked down upon. Therefore, only after experiencing different occasions will children understand that sometimes they need to be slippery rather than helpful and honest.