It is more important for students to do the reading by themselves (based on their own interest) than to read what to their teachers assign.

Students have always been eager to have the best choices during their life. They have many profound effects on the students' performance. Due to the paramount importance of reading for the students, a heated debate exists over whether the proper study materials for them. Some people believe that students should follow what the teachers assign them to read. Others, including me, have an opposite standpoint. I firmly believe that students should select the proper sources for reading based on their interests. Not only does it encourage them to read more, but also it helps them to evolve their understanding of desirable issues. I will elaborate the most outstanding reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First and foremost, the favorable reading's materials bring strong motivation to students to allocate more time to reading. There is no doubt that people often tend to follow their interests. This viewpoint gives them pleasure time. Consequently, they try to do their best during related activities. For instance, when I was a mechanical engineering student I used to allocate special time for reading the history books. History books have been always been attractive to me. However, there was not any direct relation between my major and the history, I did not abandon this activity. It helped me a lot to feel relax whenever I had bustling days at the university. In fact, reading was a part of my life as a logical habit. I had a strong motivation to do this activity and it had a profound effect on my performance. Had I be forced by my professors to just read the engineering books, I would not have experienced such a valuable sense.

A further more significant point is that reading is a powerful tool to have a deep insight into various issues. When a person tries to chase his interest with proper books and articles, he can obtain a lot of invaluable information. Gradually, this tactic paves the way for people to be skillful in their field of interest. Let's consider my own personal experience as an example. I had been working for three years as a journalist before I registered for the entrance exam of the university. At that time, I was always dealing with political reports. Reading and analyzing the political reports was a fantastic experience for me. I participated in the different meeting and gave a strong presentation based on my knowledge on political issues. I derived them from reading different articles with a variety of viewpoints. After a while, I was recognized as an expert person in political discussions. As you can see reading the favorable contents can be useful for everyone who wishes to be successful in his profession.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that the selection of books and magazines according to the students' interest is a rational strategy. For sake of the brevity, two main reasons should be reiterated. First, it gives strong inducement for reading. Moreover, it helps people to be professional experts in their activities. That is why this strategy is recommended for all the students.