You have decided to give several hours of your time each month to improve the

community where you live. What is one thing you will do to improve your

community? Why? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

Volunteering a few hours each week to some community activity is an important way of investing in the future of our society. I choose to spend my time working with elementary school children helping them learn to read. Developing good reading skills will help these students keep up with their classmates, open new worlds to them, and help them succeed in life.

First of all, students who are not good readers cannot keep up with their studies. They will not understand the lessons; they will come to school unprepared and they will not be able to perform. By learning to read, students will be on an equal footing with their classmates. They will be active participants in class.

Secondly, books on different lifestyles, occupations, cultures, or governments will open new doors to students. Students who can't read will only know what they see around them. Students who can read will be able to travel to new worlds and experience new ideas without ever leaving their classrooms. Moreover, today, a person who can't read is severely handicapped. A non-reader will have to work at the most menial jobs. Readers, especially good readers, have the whole universe open to them. They will have the possibility to learn any job that interests them.

In short, by volunteering to help an elementary school child learn to read, I am helping him or her not only today, but for the rest of his or her life. I am helping them keep pace with their peers and explore the world and themselves through books.