Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person`s age. in the workplace, there are most offen decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Although such topics, in all likelihood, will never yield a consensual agreement, a constructive dialogue, on the discrimination against older employees, can lead to thought-provoking discussions. Irrespective of the numerous arguments that exit on either side, my opinion is that we should consider it as unlawful.

There are a number of reasons in favor of in my stance. To begin with, age discrimination should not take place at any organization, and fair policy should be applied equally on all employees. It is important to note that many aged people have great experience irrespective of their age; thus, their career path should be in line with it. Therefore, the aforementioned-argument shows that some sort of laws should secure those workers who are discriminated.

Another pivotal aspect of the argument is that companies advert its opportunities for all applicants, and they have certain duties and requirements to be fulfilled. First and foremost, when an elder apply for the opportunity required by the company, company should look only into his qualifications. This exemplifies that unfairness on dealing with people, considering their age as the basis, shall be considered as a crime.

To sum up, there is equally evidence to support the arguments I have provided, and hence, my opinion is that the government should impose huge penalties on the companies which discriminate their employees.