The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

The claims of animals having rights is being debated since 1970's. Zoos have come into existance inorder to save animals from extinction and some argue that zoos have been hurting animals in the thrust of money. This matter opened an intersting point of debate which will be explained in this essay.

With the decline in forest cover, animals have to find a proper place to support and sustain themselves. As such, Zoos have come into existance because of mankind hunting animals at an alarming rate leading to disruption in the ecology. Zoos maintain a perfect ecology for the animals where they are at a will to roam and exhibit themselves. A point to be noted that whenever anyone visiting the zoo, we can see that no animal is allowed to come out without its will and people are kept in a position such that it can be obsered from all the locations. A recent survey conducted by a particular university shows that more than two thirds of the animals that are sought to be extinct are found in zoos.

On the other side of the coin, people think that zoos are primarily indulged in making money and focus is shifted in such a way that anuimals are harmed to make the money. This could be the case in the animal shows where animals are entrapped in particular space and constrained to it. People are also in the opinion that zoos have disturbed their livelihood and confined them.

Animals in zoo are always supported by one trained person and they can never be hurt. Xoos have to play a vital role in maintaning the ecology by helping animals to prevent from extinction.