The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

It is always a debatable issue that whether wild animals should be kept in confined space or not. Some argue that it cause detrimental implications on them, while others deem that it assist to conserve them. Zoos should not be prohibited which will elucidated in following paragraphs.

The primary reason to bolster the notion of keeping vermin in zoos is that nowadays numerous hunters around the globe are exploiting and killing animals for their personal benefits. As leather and skin of animals are expensive and valuable in international market, people kill animals and sell their skin and other organs for money. To exemplify, in India, elephants are killed for their tusk and leather. However, sometimes keeping animals in limited space could cause pernicious effects on their life as they are not used to it. therefore, animals will be safe in zoos.

On the other hand, freedom is one of the rudimentary rights of every living creature on the earth. If animals are kept in zoos then their freedom will be snatched. Although it is only for the betterment of animals, it is unacceptable up to some extent. For example, a leopard which is placed in zoo, could never run in its natural speed due to lack of space in zoos. Moreover, it is not the only way that salvation of animals can only be done if they are kept in zoos, there are other ways through which it can be fulfilled.

In conclusion, I reckon that animals should only be kept in zoos when they are in jeopardy or else authority should impose strict rules and regulation in order to conserve it.