Do you think consumers should avoid over packed products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products? Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about over packed products. Some people believe that producers should be responsible for over packing, others think that it should be controlled by consumers. I am inclined to believe that this is mainly companies’ duty. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why avoiding over packed products should be a producers' responsibility. One of them is that if we create some sort of solution that fits all producers, it will be much more effective than consumer based one because it can easily be traceable by governments. It can also be argued that many consumers do not have enough environmental consciousness, so we can get extended success if we create some sort of solutions via producers.

Those who argue for consumers' responsibility have a different view and say that it can be a logical way. Firstly, it is claimed that average consumer has the ability to decide which products are much more environmentally friendly than others and less harmful to nature. So, it should be customers' duty because of costumer awareness. Then, some people claim that over packed products are much more expensive than general products because they have some extra packaging. Therefore, many consumers cannot choose extra-packed products. Specifically, a study conducted by Yale University in 2015 has found that consumers are making their choice depends on their economic concerns instead of attractive packaging.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that over packing should be avoided by producers because of traceability advantages and environmental concerns. I would strongly recommend that governments should check the progress on this issue even consumer or producers held this responsibility.