Nowadays a lot of offices are being built an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development?. Discuss your opinion and support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Professionals are spending most of their precious time at offices and one of the most common office types is open-office. Some people believe that open office has not boost employees productivity, while others think that it is a super social and cool idea. This essay will explain why open offices are not actually good places to work.

In open offices, people can socialize and share their ideas more easily. Instead of the lack of walls in the open office, employees can communicate face to face and plan their daily activities together without any hesitation. For example, if they have any idea worth to share, they can say it directly and this is actually a good thing. Thus it can be accepted as an advantageous thing for team spirit.

On the other hand, with the open office style, workers could lose their privacies. If they have an issue that should be secret, they will not keep it so long because of workspace style. Additionally, Open offices create not only noise pollution but also a visual distraction. It is quite hard for anybody to focus on one task while his colleagues look at him. So it can be a quite disturbing experience to work at an open office place.

To sum up, the open office issue is quiet controversy among employees. In my opinion, although open offices have some advantages including easy to socialization and idea sharing, it should be restricted in work environments for privacy concerns and different kind of distractions.