Eventually, electric cars will solve all of our transport and environmental issues. Advantage and disadvantages?

Our world is polluted drastically by automobile vehicles and traffics are clogged in all parts of the world due to a proliferating population. One solution to address these issues is the introduction of electric cars. The aim of this essay is twofold: firstly, to assess the advantage of using an electric car and secondly, to explain the demerits in moving towards electric cars.

Electric cars are vehicles that run on electricity and will not pollute the environment. Firstly, these cars are environment-friendly and help us to reduce the Carbon-Monoxide emission level from traditional vehicles. Furthermore, these hybrid vehicles reduce the need for petroleum-based fuel which will eventually reduce the usage non-renewable resources. For instance, the government of Finland is planning to convert all its automobile vehicle into electric by the year 2025. As a result, electric cars contribute significantly in protecting our environment and reducing carbon emission levels.

However, running vehicle using electricity can cause problems in long run due to the continuous requirement of electricity. In order to run the electric cars, we need an abundant source of electricity which is a very arduous task. Currently, we have very few efficient methods in generating electricity and this will be a hindrance to the function of electric cars. To illustrate the above statement, a majority of the power plants are running out of raw materials for producing electricity and the usage level is anticipated to rise to a new level with the introduction of electric cars.

Like every coin has two sides, usage of electric cars are definitely an alternative solution for environmental and traffic issue but has some limits. In my opinion, electric cars will presumably reduce the traffic and environmental issues if the limits associated with them are addressed at an early stage.