Extreme sports like skiing, water etc. are dangerous and should these be banned?

Recently, there has been increased participation in extreme sports worldwide. These phenomena have garnished mixed views from experts from society. There is an ongoing debate on the positive and negative effects of such a sporting activity. Proponents are of the view that such sports need to be promoted as it instills risk-taking abilities in the person taking part. However, others have opposite view stating that they are risky and should be banned. In this article, I will lay my opinion after analyzing both sides.

To begin with, there are numerous advantages of extreme sports like skiing, river rafting, and water sports. First, it increases the risk-taking ability and makes a person brave. By taking an active part in such sporting events members get equipped with a fearless mindset, which can be boon in their professional and personal life. For example, by taking part in hiking trips during my school days, not only I was able to eradicate my fear of the heights but also developed a useful skill of taking risks and coming out of comfort zone. Hence, I have a successful career and personal life.

On the other hand, there are several detrimental impacts of such sports, if not performed with adequate safety measures, it can sometimes become life threating and dangerous. Many a time it can be fatal and deadly. For instance, recent news of equipment malfunction in one such event cost the life of a participant. Moreover, not all section of the society is able to take part, as extreme sports are expensive.

In conclusion, for the above examples, it is evident that extreme sports like skiing and water can be boon for the participants in terms of health and positive mindsets, however, if not performed with utter care it can be ban.