Most modern families have both parents working and as a result children spend less and less time with their parents.

What is the reason for this?

What problems can this cause?

It is quite a common scenario now to have both husband and wife are employed and have hectic work schedules. This type of families eventually faces a problem, that parents and children fail to spend quality time together. This essay will discuss the reasons for both parents working and how it affects the well being of the families.

Today's economy puts tremendous pressure on common man which in turn make it a struggle for parents to make ends meet. Rising living expenses force both husband and wife to start earning. Eventually, this tends to cause problems in their kids because the time parents spend at home will become considerably less. Studies show that there is an increasing percentage of kids who show symptoms of depression from households where both parents are working.

Despite the financial reasons, one other reason for the rise in employment of both parents is the exponential rise in educational opportunities. During the last century, the avenues of education increased multifold providing improved access to quality education for many. This, in turn, gave many unemployed parents access to complete their formal studies and thereby got into the workforce.

While it is good for increased income, it is detrimental to the mental health of children. While it might be inevitable for both parents to go to work, it is clear that this will put a strain on their relationship with the kids. In my opinion, parents should try to strike a balance between work and family.