Medical technology can increase the human life expectancy. Is it curse or blessing?

n the last few decades, there has been a great upsurge in the field of medical science. As a result, the average living age of a person has increased to a great extent. Many people consider it as a blessing; while other opines that it is a curse for our society. My opinion, however, coincides with the latter notion. This essay will elaborate on the viewpoints and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that increasing life expectancy has resulted in a higher ratio of the world population. As a result, the resources namely food and land are depleting at faster rates. For example, the increasing number of people has created a burden on the farmers to grow more food crops, due to which the deforestation is occurring at an alarming rate. Also, it is creating a problem of land scarcity for housing. Therefore, it is clear that this trend is causing devastating effects on our society.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that it has generated a colossal of pressure over the governments around the world. They have to provide additional grants and medical care to elderly people. Not only it is costing millions of dollars but also depleting the funds from other major issues. For instance, the governments have to provide the old age pension and allowances to the growing population, which could be used in educational or research purposes. Hence, this increasing life expectancy is creating a burden that could have serious consequences.

In view of the arguments outlined above, it can be concluded that medical technology has increased the life expectancy of people, but it is harming our society that results are too dire to be ignored.