Medical technology has increased average life expectancy. Is it curse or blessing?

In the modernized world the average life expectancy of a human is in between 75-80 years which is much higher than the past. Some people believe that the increment in average life expectancy is a bless while others argue that it is really a burden to the world. Here I’m going to elaborate my opinions on above matter and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with few decades ago the average human life expectancy was nearly 60-65 years which was much lower than now. It is a well -known factor that the main reason for this increment is the advance development in medical technologies. For example, in 19th century many people had died because of several illnesses such as malaria. But most of those health issues were disappeared from the world as a result of dedicated researchers. On the other hand, some people complain that high life expectancy is a burden to the world. This directly increases the world population. Meanwhile the higher number of elder populations add nothing to the economy but only a cost. Hence, most countries are now in a serious problem of maintaining this increasing population.

In addition, older people are asserts to any country. This is because they are the knowledgeable resource people who can share those valuable ideas with the younger generations. Their life experiences are more valuable than any book in libraries. Those experiences are full with practical situations that no one can acquire that knowledge by reading thousands of books.

To conclude, based on the above mention factors increasing elder population is becoming a problem but, each country needs to take the maximum advantages of their older people without considering them as a burden.