The ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of car ownership, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of traffic congestion and pollution has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on our environment  in recent years. It can be agreed that the ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family. This essay will elaborate both positive and negative impacts of this topic and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous ways to explain why we should limit car ownership, but the most conspicuous one is rooted in the fact that reducing the number of cars can resolve many issues related to traffic and environment, which can help to improve our living standard. As an illustration, research in this area invariably reveals that human’s living standard has improved significantly in recent years after government put a restriction. Thus, it is apparent that limiting car ownership has some obvious benefits.

Nevertheless, opponents of this trend tend to believe that in some cases the restriction might not necessarily lead to a positive outcome, which can cause many dramatic problems and permanently damage the environment. For example, according to a new research from Harvard University, the environment has become more polluted and traffic congestions happen more often when the government decided to ban this act. Therefore, it is obviously true that this policy might not be the best option.

In view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that, limiting the ownership of car is prominent, although it has a number of drawbacks that should be well handled.