The ownership of cars should be restricted to one per family in order to reduce traffic congestion and pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, traffic congestion and pollution on the roads are increasing day by day. one of the reasons for this is having more cars in a family. Some people argue that every family should be restricted with one car only to solve the problem of traffic and pollution. I completely agree with this argument and this essay will explain the key points in favour of this agreement.

Firstly, due to increase in buying capacity, many families can afford more than one car, therefore, in spite of need, people are buying second car to show their financial status. such people don't think the effects of such decision, more cars on road definitely leads to high congestion and pollution which they should understand. Everyone has a social responsibility towards society and environment and people should fulfill that responsibility and should not deteriorate the environment just for the sake of showing false status.

Secondly, today all the family members are busy in their own routines and they rarely get time to talk to each other. Even they go to their work places in their own car irrespective of closeness of work places among each other. Thus, restricting one car per family will give them a chance to go together and will give them an opportunity to talk to each other during the travel period. this will increase the harmony among the family members which eventually will result into a happy society and reduced pollution and traffic jams.

To conclude, restriction of one car per family is a good idea as it will help in reducing the pollution, traffic jams and increasing the happiness of society. I believe that governments will consider this suggestion seriously and will try to implement it in future.