Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion?

Parenting has remained a very responsible task for ages and has now become a debatable topic. Some people opine that parents should be held accountable for any act of their children. My opinion coincides with this given notion. This essay will elaborate on the viewpoints and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that children spent their majority of time with the guardian and hence learn the majority of things from them. Hence, it is the responsibility of parents to teach them about the rightful behavior. For example, if child abuse or fight with other children, his parents must stop him and guide towards the right path. Therefore, to make a child well disciplined, it is necessary to hold the parents legally responsible for any actions of their child.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that there is a great upsurge in the incidents of juvenile delinquency in recent years. Blaming parents for the crime committed by their peers is the most effective way to reduce these rates. Not only it will build pressure on guardians to take proper care of their child but also encourage them to teach lawful behavior. For instance, in many cases, the child starts stealing a small thing from his own house, but due to the negligence of parents, his psychology of stealing amplifies with time. Hence, any anti-social behavior of a child should be blamed for his or her parents.

In view of the arguments discussed above, it can be concluded that children learn by seeing and observing their parents actions. Therefore it will be justified if their parents held responsible for their acts.