People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

People are having different reasons to join formal college and universities and some of the key reasons are gaining in-depth knowledge, having a better experience, preparing for promotion in career etc. This essay will try to delineate some of the key reasons why do people consider to attend college or universities.

Firstly, in my opine, obtaining more knowledge by higher education is one of the key reasons for people to attend higher educational institutions. They want to grow their knowledge in a specific area of field so that they can help to develop the field. For example, in the latest survey conducted by National Study Council or NSC, during 2015 to 2018, 87% of students who registered for a Ph.D course in US universities are looking to enhance their knowledge in a specific field of study. Hence, it is very evident that people attend universities to gain more knowledge.

Secondly, Nowadays, achieving better career prospects is also related to higher educations. Pupil goes to universities to satisfy the growing demand to obtain specific knowledge in their job. Many employers want their employee to gain higher education so that they can contribute better in their business. For instance, according to a study conducted by National Employee Union or NEU in Canada, more than 80% of working executive enrolled for the higher studies in universities because of the growing demand in their current job. So, it is proven that getting promotions is also one of the key reason for people to join universities.

In conclusion, people joining universities or colleges for various reasons, sometimes for higher education or better job, but the key reason boils down to the fact that they want to gain more knowledge so that they can grow themselves.