Smoking is harmful to health and some governments have banned smoking in public. Do you think it is justified on their part to ban smoking?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between the people that Smoking is harmful and many governments have banned smoking in public places. While it is possible to claim that these moves come after many studies and reports suggesting severe health problems to passive smokers. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

To begin with, I would like to state that the hazardous effects of smoking are well known to our society and, the governments are also advertising its ill-effects. Smoking causes cancers of the lung, mouth, throat, liver and impairs immune system. To illustrate, according to study conducted by the World Health Organisation, it was found that smoking related diseases kill one in ten adults globally.

In continuation to the above point, I would also like to state that in today's modern world, Smoking consider as Fashion symbol in between the teenagers and youth, furthermore, teenager smoke due to Peer group pressure and smoking advertising. For example, according to health promotion unit, In developed countries, smoking is the greatest cause of death, especially among those who start smoking in their teenage years.

Those who argue for smoking gives pleasure and enjoyment have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that Revenue from cigarette is going to decline and kind of restriction of someone personal life. But, in my opinion, ban prohibits the people from smoking public places and one can safe from passive smoking.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the cases, my personal opinion is that i am in favour of government decision to complete ban smoking in public place. Hence, this would help in improving the individual's overall health.