Some people prefer to listen to music while studying, as music has a calming effect on the mind. Others prefer a pin drop silence in order to concentrate on the content they are studying and have an undivided attention while they do so.

Which option works better for you and why do you think the other option is not viable to ensure a successful study time?

People say music is the need of the soul, they enjoy music while doing any task whether it is studying or showering. Most of the students prefer to listen music while studying. There is an ongoing debate on listening the music while studying or not. In this essay, I will provide my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

Those who enjoy listening the music while studying, normally doing memorizing tasks. Brain stores that information quickly which have some emotions attached. Fetching of emotional information from brain is also quick and robust. By listening of the music we are actually attaching emotions with it. So, it will be easy to memorize the task with music.

People who said that music should not be listened while studying have different point of view. They think that while brainstorming or some research activity it is better to focus on one task at a time. However, music can be listened to fresh the mind after completing the activity. By doing task sequentially mind will not be disturbed. It happens that while doing parallel tasks people feel tired. This is the reason of multi-tasking which is not good for the health.

In conclusion, I will not prefer multi-tasking rather complete each task separately. In addition to it, there should be a time to relax and enjoy, so in separate time one can listen to the music. By combining both things will consume more time and energy to complete each activity.