Some people think law changes human behavior. Do you agree or disagree?

Law has a greater influence on the holistic development of a country and social fabric for the citizens. Proponents are debating over this phenomenon that law changes human behavior. Many believe that law has a paramount impact on social norms and in turns changes human behavior, however, others hold opposite views stating that it does not hold significant importance in changing the behavior of humans. In this article, I will analyze both the side before deriving a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, in the majority of countries, people follow laws due to avoid heavy fine imposed by federal agencies. For instance, driving a car comes with many traffic laws which need to abided by the driver of the vehicle. They will put on a seat belt and follow the traffic signals. This they will do to avoid mammoth fine and imprisonment. If given a choice a good amount of the population would not like to follow the traffic rules. Thus, it does not change human behavior.

On the other hand, a majority of the citizens are trying to become good citizens of the country and they imbibed by the laws which take forms of habit and have the deepest impact on their thought process and changes their behavior. For example, in countries like the United States of America becomes great due to its citizens' positive behaviors towards legislative laws.

In conclusion, from the above example, it is evident that the law certainly changes human behavior either due to a fear of severe punishment or due to eager to become a responsible citizen.