Some universities deduct students’ marks if assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest some alternative actions?

The idea that universities deduct students’ marks if an assignment is given late, which lies among arguable debates, has again sparked controversy. There are several major factors responsible for that, however, certain remedies can be implemented to alleviate the issues. This essay will discuss the problems, hence suggest logical solutions.

The marks deduction from late submissions mentioned above was caused by many significant factors. However, the one that stems out the most is students need to learn a wide range of knowledge from various subjects in a short time. An instance illustrating this is the fact that teachers do not normally discuss the difficulties of the individual assignments before setting the deadlines. This matter has resulted in several consequences which include demotivating students or discourage them to prepare quality works.

Nonetheless, several measures can be adopted to mitigate the impact of marks deduction for late assignment submission. 2) Perhaps the most effective way is to set a suitable deadline for the assignment depending on its complexity. Another remedy that can be taken into consideration is that lecturers should also be advised to look into the situation of the student before deducting their marks.

In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on the problems and solutions, I strongly believe that this issue can be eliminated by co-operation between university, teaching professors and students.