38 The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

The topic was about Sartorian company discontinued alpaca overcoat five years ago due to unreliable supplies and now they are ready to produce again as they have a new supplier and claim their old market. The argument based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

First of all, the author claimed that they stop their production due to the unreliable supplier and now they have a new supplier. but the author does not provide any evidence that proves that the new supplier is reliable. And on what basis the author determine the reliability, on quantity, cheap or expensive. It might be possible that the earlier supplier had a better quality product so that they can not supply in prolific quantity. Because of the quality, the customer loved them. And now if the quality is cheap customers might not buy it. It might be possible that the production was stopped because of labor shortages not because of the supply shortage.

Another claim the author provided is that since the company does not make alpaca overcoat for five years and no other major competitors making them, there will be a huge demand. Although the author does not provide any survey data that bolster his claim. It might be possible that the companies considered to be major competitors five years ago, are not anymore in the existence and new companies emerged. It might be also possible that five years ago alpaca overcoat was in fashion but not anymore, that is why other companies stop making it, there is no demand for it. The company should have surveyed that customers if they really want the overcoat rather than just depends on intuition.

the author also claimed that customers will pay more for the overcoat as there is a huge demand and price of the clothing is increased in five years. It might be possible that as the previous supplier provided a high-quality raw material, people like that and if the quality is low now people might not pay higher money, besides we are not sure there is a huge demand of the overcoat. It might also possible that the customers buy the overcoat because it was cheaper compared to other companies overcoats. It might also possible that only certain clothing prices are at high and people might not willing to pay a higher price for an overcoat.

The argument is flawed and based on unwarranted reasons and the argument failed to provide any convincing data that proves that there is a huge demand of the alpaca overcoat and customers willing to pay higher prices for the overcoat.