Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What makes a nation great? There are many indicators of it and we rank the world nations based on certain criterias, but if we were to see more than just a bird's eye view of how well a nation is doing, it all boils down to the welfare of the citizens. Surely, since a nation is made by its people, what could be a better indicator of its greatness than its people's welfare? I agree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based, for three reasons which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

The first reason that comes to mind when we think of welfare is health. One of the more recent disasters pertaining to health of the people was the COVID-19 pandemic. When the whole world came to a standstill and most of the people were affected either directly or indirectly by the coronavirus, so many nations suffered. To elucidate with an example, let us look at India. At the time of the pandemic, people were queued up outside hospitals and graveyards alike. There were not enough hospital beds, not enough oxygen supply to treat the patients, as a result of which there were so many deaths. But after the crisis had abated, slowly the medical facilities were improved and doctors could pay attention to those in crisis and treat them without any hassle. It was at this time we can see how the nation progressed and became a 'great' nation. It was because of the well-being of its people.

Furthermore, only if the people of the nation are doing well economically, we can say that the nation is indeed a great one. In a nation, if all sectors seem to be doing well and bringing in good income, it is good for the economy. And when the economy is good, the nation is definitely progressing. If, on the other hand, if there is another nation that is not faring so well- it is currently in a state of recession and many of its people are doing bad economically, it is going to be a tough time for everyone to keep their heads above water. We would hardly call such a nation 'great'.

The third and final reason why I agree with the claim is because the achievements of a nation's rulers, artists and scientists, though add value to the greatness of a nation, it cannot be the most important factor deciding the greatness, per se. If a nation has recently made a breakthrough discovery, or an artist from that country has won a big award, that does not necessarily make the nation a great one. If its people are not looked after, then there is no real merit in the accolade given to the nation as being 'great'. This is ultimately a case of the rich becoming richer- what should be more important is that the common people of a nation should be in a good state- health-wise and money-wise.

In a nutshell, I would like to conclude by reiterating that the welfare of its people determines the greatness of a nation, not the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. Only if the people are doing well in their lives, the nation can be praised as being great. All the achievements by the artists or scientists are just bells and whistles.