According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

In the given argument, it is stated that Super Screen should spend more on advertising its content to reach a larger audience as its content is good and people are not aware of its content. This conclusion is based on the premise that Super Screen-produced movies received more number of positive reviews this year but the number of people who watched the movies has decreased. The argument has poor underlying assumptions that make the argument weak for three reasons.

Firstly, the argument does not provide any statistical data to corroborate the claim. To elaborate, we can consider a detailed graph report that gives us a region wise distribution of number of people watching and number of positive reviews received. This would have helped the Super Screen producers target the audience that has shown a dip in viewership. Furthermore, it may be possible that the observed trend is an intermittent one and such transient trends occur frequently in the business over a period of time. Hence, a detailed analysis and trend identification would have helped the argument to be more ironclad. Had the author provided such information, the argument would have been strengthened but based on the current dataset, the argument stands weak.

Secondly, the argument contains dubious comparisons and incomplete information that can be misleading and lead to incorrect conclusions. To illustrate the same, we can see that the argument states the percentage of positive reviews increased, but here it is not stated whether the number of positive reviews also increased, and if it did, then by how much. Evaluation of the argument would make more sense if the percentage increase or decrease was stated along with the population change as doing so would have provided a solid understanding of the direction in which the viewership is headed. It is possible that fewer people provided reviews but the overall consensus on the movies is negative. Thus, without such details, the argument holds no water.

Finally, it is also important to consider the argument reaches a conclusion that does test the feasibility of the proposition and links the outcome with a reason which is not deducible from the given facts. To throw some light on the same, the flagging viewership and increased positive reviews do not suggest that the audience is unaware of the content and the content is impeccable. It is possible that the audience is aware of the content, but because there is a boom in availability of pirated dvds, people prefer not to go to theatres and watch movies at home, for a much lesser expense. Hence the correlation-causation fallacy is clearly evident in the argument and thus weakens it to the core.

Although the author does make a good case by stating some observed trends/reasons for a decision that is proposed later in the argument, it is weakened by some unsound assumptions highlighted above. Had the author provided more details(perhaps in the form of a synoptic analysis), the argument would have been further substantiated. But as of now, based on the evaluation of the given set of information, the argument stands too weak to be true.