Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

According to the argument, deer populations have been reduced because of global warming and hunters, but there are various reasons for the decline in the deer populations which are unstated in the argument.

Firstly, environmental disruption might have occurred in Canada’s arctic regions because of which deers were unable to survive. Heavy rainfall might have occurred in that region or because of the climate changes also deers were unable to survive. As their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold, in some areas they were unable to get food or unable to tolerate the temperature.

Secondly, as reports are collected from the local hunters there is no proof that the reports are correct. Local hunters might have given wrong information so that no other hunters would come there to haunt the deers. Therefore there is a possibility that there is no decline in the population of the deers.

Because of the disease among the deers which might have widespread among them might have caused the decline in the deer populations. Because of the hereditary problems facing among the beers might have caused for the decline in the deer populations.

The author doesn't provide the sufficient information and proof why the deer population has been declined? The author mentions only the global warming as the reason but doesn’t provide the evidence