The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is about resuming the production of alpaca overcoats. It has been stated that the company had stopped producing alpaca overcoats five years ago due to the difficulty in obtaining supplies of high-quality wool fabric. They argue that since the company has a new fabric supplier now, they should resume production and can expect them to return more profits than ever. However, there are many loopholes in their arguments supporting this decision and more evidence is needed for correct evaluation.

Firstly, they have argued that since no other competitors offer a similar product, the company can expect huge demands in overcoats. However, we should look into the reason why other companies are not producing the overcoats. It might be that they were not profitable for the companies or the response from the public was not particularly positive. It might also be that they themselves had a shortage of supply from the fabric provider. They also might have shifted from using wool to some other fabric which cost cheaper and helped in gaining more profits. Whatever may have been the reason, it is important to research about other companies' policy changes and their approach towards the market. It would be a case of naivety to think that the company's product will work solely on the basis of other companies are not selling a particular product.

Secondly, the outcry from the customers for discontinuing the product was around five years ago. But, the trends in fashion are very dynamic. What may have been popular five years ago might not be popular now. Five years is a lot of time when we talk about fashion. There are changes in fashion almost every month let alone years. It is not sensible to consider the response of people from five years ago. Maybe, before deciding to resume production, a survey can be conducted from where we can get the idea of the customer's preferences.

Thirdly, there has been no mention in the price of the overcoats in the argument. Surely, the company would not keep the same price as they did five years ago. It is likely for the price to increase and again, we do not know how the response of the buyers will be. There is likely to be a shift in the purchasing power and the budget of the customers in the last five years. Hence, setting up a reasonable price is also a crucial factor.

In the end, resuming a product that was in demand five years ago doesn't seem to be wise. Before launching, serious research needs to be conducted to know about the current scenario in the fashion industry and correctly judge whether it would be beneficial for the company to resume production on alpaca overcoats.