The birth-rate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birth-rate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase.

As per the recommendation made by the committee planning, the city will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults. Since the birthrate in the city is plunging, the number of students enrolled in public schools will be much lower and the funds that need to be budgeted for education, athletic playing fields, and other recreational facilities during the next decade can be deducted. The recommendation can appear true only if the argument is properly evaluated and the three question below is successfully tackled with critical reasoning.

Does birthrate ever remain in its declining state? The birthrate of a particular city depends upon various factors. The birthrate may be declining due to a lack of proper hospital facilities, a lack of nourishment diet for pregnant women, a lack of care, etc. If a proper hospital is planned and a burgeon diet is available, then the birthrate may increase. So birth rate may not necessarily decline in the next decade if deficiency is replenished carefully taking into account different factors. The fluctuations in the birth rate depend on how the budget will be proportionately allocated for the health sector. The statement that the birth rate will decline over the decades means that the budget is not allocated with emphasis on health facilities rather it is more inclined to other non-critical activities.

Does an Adult population necessarily increase in the city? The adult who is mature enough to handle himself may not remain in the same city. Some might leave Calatrava for employment, while others may travel abroad for educational purposes. The adult who is native to Calatrava may not all remain in the same city. So this assumption holds true only if all the adults are restricted to migrate from their place.

Is facilities and activities for adults more important than the facilities and activities for a child? Though the birth rate has declined markedly, there may be few children in the next decades too. Children are a critical part of society and deducting the children's facilities and programs may result in demoralization in parents regarding the birth of new children. Thus, it will further reduce the population of people in consecutive next decades and is very pernicious to the future. So the facilities and programs for children must be emphasized rather than adding services and facilities for adults. If the city wants to get emptied in the future, then the following assumption can be made.

The recommendation made by the committee planning, as it stands now, is utterly flawed. For this recommendation to hold true, answers must be given to the above three questions considering the argument carefully. If the above question can be pellucidly tackled with proper reasoning the recommendation can be made.