This is part of a lecture by a professor of political science.

Forty years ago, the country of Byzantia started life as a parliamentary democracy, but shortly thereafter, it found itself at war with neighboring Yakistan. After spending the national coffers on arms, and sending most of its able-bodied youth to the front, Byzantia was plagued by shortages and inflation. To keep his people from rebelling while the war continued, Byzantia’s president declared a state of emergency and installed himself as dictator, a position he still holds today. Now, the tiny nation of Molivia, established just five years ago as a parliamentary democracy, is threatened by its own neighbor, and is buying up arms and training soldiers rapidly. It is no stretch at all to imagine Molivia becoming a dictatorship within the decade.”

A professor of political science predicted that the country of Molivia will follow the footsteps of Byzantia and fall from a parliamentary democracy to a dictatorship. The professor uses similarities between the two countries to support his prediction, arguing that since both countries were a parliamentary democracy, both countries were threatened by a minatory neighbor, and both countries mobolized their troops to participate in an arms race, both countries will eventually become a dictatorship. However, the professor has failed to compare other factors, such as the history, economy, and political circumstances of the two countries. Therefore, the prediction of the professor is not convincing.

First of all, the professor believed that since Byzantia was initally a parliamentary democracy but became a dictatorship, Molivia will inevitably become a dictatorship as well. However, the professor has failed to compare the history between the two countries. Suppose that throughout the history of the region now known as Byzantia, the people have been under dictatorships and parliamentary democracy was only introduced in recent years by colonizers who attempted to reform Byzantia. If this was the case, democracy is unlikely to succeed in Byzantia because Byzantia has had a dictatorial past. On the contrary, suppose that past rulers of the people in modern Molivia have used parliamentary democracy to rule their people. It would be reasonable to assume that the people of Molivia would prefer democracy and any attempt to change to dictatorship would meet a fierce opposition. The professor should compare the history of Byzantia and Molivia to understand whether the two countries have a predilection for dictatorship or democracy.

Second, the professor did not consider the economy of the two countries. The professor mentioned that after Byzantia was crippled by war, it was plagued by shortages and inflation. The professor inferred that Molivia would meet the same fate because Molivia is facing imminent conflict. However, the professor has failed to elaborate on the economy of the two countries. Suppose that the economy of Byzantia relied on agricultural products, whereas the economy of Molivia depended on electronic products. If Byzantia and Molivia were both impacted by war, the economy of Byzantia would take a harder hit because its agriculture would produces less income during wartime, whereas the economy of Molivia would be more resilient as it traded technological equipment to generate income. In addition, although Molivia is currently stockpiling weapons, its economy might be able to sustain its expenditure. The professor should compare the economy of the two countries to determine whether the economy of Molivia would become like that of Byzantia.

Finally, the professor did not compare the political circumstances of the two countries. Although Byzantia engaged in a war with its neighbor Yakistan, Molivia is only being threatened by its hostile neighbor and has not yet engaged in war. This means that it is possible that Molivia and its neighbor seek another method to resolve their differences, such as through a resolution from the United Nations. Molivia is preparing for war, but that does not signify that it will enter war.

In conclusion, the prediction of the professor is not persuasive because the professor has assumed that since Molivia was a democracy and is now mobolizing for war, it will follow the path of Byzantia and become a dictatorship. The professor assumed that the example of Byzantia was applicable for Molivia and did not compare other factors that could affect the political system of Molivia, such as its history, economy, and political circumstances. Consequently, the argument of the professor is flawed.