A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The reasoning addressed by the author is affected by some problematics which could be used to undermine the final conclusion. These are a trouble analogy, an alternate cause and the lack of quantitative proof.

First of all, even though the new introduced policy has had a positive effect on the rate of faculty retention for Oceania University, it does not imply that the same wished effect will manifest for Seatown University. This is since the two universities may present different realities, despite the near distance, which has been used as main element to allow the comparison. For instance, professors at Oceania University may be characterised by worse financial conditions then professors at Seatown, which could help to explain the success of the introduced policy. Therefore, if educators at Seatown were wealthier, they could not have particular difficulties in sustain scholastic expenditures of their offspring. As a consequence, the incentive to remain in that faculty may not burgeon after the introduction of the policy.

Furthermore, in order to support its claim, the author cites a study which has been conducted on Oceania University. Nevertheless, no further information on this analysis are reported, such as the measures used to compute the faculty retention or who has requested and conducted the study. For instance, the favourable result may be linked to the utilisation of an inchoate measure, which does not consider relevant and reasonable elements. In addition, the analysis could have been directed by someone who is dependent to the university, meaning that he could have been incentivised to obtain a positive outcome in order to sustain and prove the efficacy of the new policy. The possibility of an artless study weakens effectively the conclusion of the author.

In addition, the increment of faculty retention at Oceania University may not be related actually to the free-tuition policy, as external factors can have influenced the final outcome. For example, having conducted the study during a crisis period could have yielded misleading results, as it is more challenging for individuals to find vacancies, rising their aversion to lose actual job positions. Also, the author does not report the period in which the analysis has been undertaken, that may differ significantly from the reality of today. For instance, it is likely that the richness of educators has increased in the span of time, allowing those to afford more expensive and prestigious universities for their children. As a consequence, if the study is implemented in a different period, there is a probability that the policy does not have any effect on the retention of professors.

Summing up, the plethora of flaws founded in the argumentation of the author allows to conclude that the free-tuition policy will not rise probably the retention of Seatown University. However, to strength his reasoning, the writer should explain why it is possible to compare the two universities and provide more information on the study, aiming at increasing the validity and consistency.