Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

"The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing." - Albert Einstein. As gaining knowledge is important, questioning the things we learn is important as well, curiosity helps us to learn more effectively rather than having a superficial understanding of something. The prompt suggests that the student should question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively. I totally agree with the prompt as being curious is an important aspect of students’ life.

While it is true that the curriculum of schools and universities are devised by qualified individuals, it is less susceptible to questioning or error. However, the teacher that teach the students cannot always deliver the content effectively and accurately. For instance, a school teacher teaching a subject with lack of appropriate knowledge and understanding is more likely to deliver a less edifying lecture. Questioning such teaching will not only help students to learn the topic in depth but also prevent students from having only a superficial knowledge about the topic.

Furthermore, questioning can repudiate false beliefs and notions. Many wrong beliefs existed earlier like earth being flat which have been repudiated by people who questioned these beliefs. People who do not ask questions tend to follow the same wrong beliefs they learn instead of finding a plausible explanation, but the people who are curious tend to ask questions and find a plausible explanation for things they learn. For example, many scientists believed that atom was the smallest, indivisible particle that together form an object, but this theory was proven wrong with the discovery of subatomic particles like electrons, protons and neutrons. The scientist that questioned the indivisibility of an atom led to a significant discovery of subatomic particles which inspired many scientists to research about these particles. Therefore, questioning what we are taught can lead to new discoveries. It can help people to understand a theory and validating it.

Additionally, asking questions can help us to find different approaches to a single problem. A problem can have alternative approaches to reach the solution, questioning the traditional approach can help us to find a better approach. For example, while solving a mathematics problem traditional method to reach the solution can be time consuming. A curious student can look for multiple approaches and find the best approach that is easy to understand and less time consuming. Therefore, questioning the problem can help us to reach a solution, and questioning the approach can help us to reach the solution with most optimal approach. Solving a problem with optimal approach is an important skill required in the industries. Many companies test the problem-solving skills of individual during the hiring process. Asking questions is very beneficial for problem solving.

In conclusion, the notion that students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively is a concept that deserves serious consideration. Students should be encouraged to approach their education with curiosity and a thirst for knowledge while maintaining the utmost respect for their teachers and the knowledge they impart. Embracing such an approach will undoubtedly lead to a more enlightened, empowered, and thoughtful generation of learners.