Since a competing lower-priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury’s circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper

The Author’s argument about Lowering the price of mercury will attract business to buy advertising space in the paper is flawed. The author mention any statistical information about the market or the number competitors present in the market along with the mercury and the bugle in the argument. Even though the author has introduced the bugle as lower priced newspaper in the initial stage of argument as the cause that effected the decline of readers for the mercury but didn’t provide any other relevant evidence to support a strong conclusion.

Firstly, The Author didn’t provide any statistical information about the pricing of newspapers in the market to prove that the mercury is highly priced. The pricing of newspaper relatively depends on various aspects such as broadness of news published, quality of pictures, effective editorials, selective advertising etc. The pricing of bugle may be relatively low as it certainly gives more importance to other aspects or due to high advertising.

Secondly, the decline of readers for mercury may have caused to the technological transformation from newspapers to digital platform. Budding news applications available in the e-platform must have effectively reduced the readers of mercury. Also the argument doesn’t suggest any information regarding the increase of readers for bugle as well.

Further, as the author suggested the best way to increase circulation is reducing the pricing of newspaper is inappropriate as the argument fails to provide any information about the success of the bugle.

The circulation of mercury can be increased by publishing articles from different fields like entertainment, health, sports and international events to catch the reader’s attention. More over, the mercury can also focus on the digital application initiation by grab more readers online who can also increase the circulation online and offline for attracting adverting space in the newspapers.

The authors conclusion about the pricing of newspaper effecting the circulation is not strong or persuasive as it failed to address the above mentioned items in the argument. To strengthen the argument the author can provide statistical information about the trends of circulation.