The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given passage, the author claims that in order to improve the overall performance of students and to ensure that students are not forced to repeat a year of school, high school students should not be assigned homework more than twice a week. This conclusion is based on the observation made indicating better overall performance of the Marlee students as compared to the Sanlee students. This argument, however, is flawed and the lack of substantial evidence dramatically decreases its persuasiveness.

First of all, the author never mentions the grade distribution. It is possible that the grade distribution in Sanlee was even, with all of the students receiving above average grades, and on the other hand in Marlee, the grade distribution was uneven, with a few toppers scoring full points and a few failures as well. Additionally, the author does not mention the difference between the overall grades, it is possible that the difference is negligible when compared to the class size of each school. For example, 50 students getting 40 is better than 10 students getting 45. Thus, this lack of data and evidence proves to be a hindrance to the argument that the amount of homework allotted is the cause of grade discrepancy.

Secondly, the author presumes, without evidence, that individual assignments are more beneficial to students than homework. Moreover, the author never mentions the amount of homework assigned to students in each school. Perhaps, the homework assigned to Sanlee students everyday is negligible when compared to the homework assigned to Marlee students, thrice a week. It is also possible, that due to greater workload three days a week, the total time spent on individual assignments by students is about the same for both schools.

Lastly, the author assumes that if the students are assigned less homework, there is no other hindrance that might prevent the students from concentrating and spending more time on individual assignments. Thus, despite the argument seeming reasonable, it is full of flaws and unsubstantiated assumptions. Until concrete evidence is gathered to support the claims made by the author, a comprehensive conclusion and informed decision cannot be made.