“During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the vice president of Alta Manufacturing expresses concern over the more on-the-job accidents compared to nearby Panoply Industries. The VP provides the information that Panoply Industries has shift hours one hour less than theirs. He then concludes that reducing the shift hours by one hour for all the three shifts will help reduce accidents. He draws this conclusion from the expert backed fact that sleep deprivation contributes majorly in many accidents. In order to evaluate the effectiveness of this recommendation we need to ask few key questions.

Firstly, we need to ask whether reducing shift hours for all three shifts by one hour will be equally effective. Reducing the morning shift hours might not be as effective as reducing night shift hours, since workers working in morning shift wouldn't be sleep deprived. Night shifts are the ones that cause sleep deprivation and it is not known whether Panoply industries have night shifts at all. If they don't, then that could be the reason why they have lesser accidents and not the shorter duration of shifts.

Secondly, we need to know the statistics of accidents for previous years. If in the previous years the number of accidents was not higher that that of Panoply, then sleep deprivation caused due to longer shift duration might not be the reason for more number of accidents.

Thirdly, we need to ask whether Alta Manufacturing observes proper saftey and precautions, and how does it compare with that of Panoply industries. Simply comparing shift hours without knowing details about other factors is not enough to evaluate the situation. Relying on a expert's belief is not a right way to go. Instead the author needs to consider all possible factors and decide based on evidence.

Therefore we see that, although the recommendation to reduce shift hours seems convincing, we need to ask few questions before proceeding with the implementation of the recommendation. The above questions throws some light on the gaps in argument provided by the author and how we can arrive at a better solution to the problem.