Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development

Scientific research and development expands our knowledge of the universe. For centuries, they have helped take the human civilisation forward. From life saving drug discoveries which have enhanced human life expectancy to discovery of new and efficient energy resources, which help a nations economy, scientific discoveries has always put the present generation a step ahead of the previous ones. But, as much as it has helped humanity, it can also be used for destructive purposes. Discovery of atomic bomb and other deadly chemical weapons have wiped out innocent human lives from the face of the earth. The rise of Artificial Intelligence powered tools have led to various people loosing jobs. Chemical pesticides which were developed for increasing the yield of crops is known to have negative side effects on people. Therefore, the question comes, how much freedom should we provide to scientists to conduct experiments without any consequences for negative side effects? In my opinion, Governments should place enough restrictions so that scientific research does not create any negative elements and is only used for betterment of humanity.

In the recent years, we are seeing rapid advancements in Artificial Intelligence. There has always been concerns of AI taking over the world and being a threat to humanity, but now the time has come to take this seriously. AI has become so advanced that it can already replace most of us from our jobs. And we have already started to see its effects with mass layoffs taking place across industries. There are also concerns regarding AI generated text and images on copywright infringement, where a lot of publicly available data was used to train the artificial neural networks, without taking permission from its authors. In such cases, it is important to ensure that these kind of technologies are not used for harmful purposes. With proper regulations, we can ensure that people use these technologies responsibly. Easy access to such technology and lack of proper regulations can lead to more harm than any good to the society.

On the other hand, placing too many restrictions might hamper development of even the essential things. The best example is the development of vaccine during the coronovirus pandemic. Vaccine discovery is a laborious process, involving years of research and development followed by a number of trials on animals and humans, before it can be approved for mass usage. Governments have implemented very strict regulations so that the safety is ensured and there are no side effects. However, during the pandemic, we saw a rapid increase in the infection, spreading all across the world and killing millions of people. There was a need for rapid vaccine development, and strict regulations from the government would only delay the process and result in more deaths and economic loss. In such a situation, it was important for the Governments to easen the regulations, so that a vaccine could be developed and approved on time.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate my point that there is a need for regulation of scientific research and development to ensure that nothing harmful comes out of the research activities. Lack of regulations can lead to development of harmful technologies which destroy our lives and planet, without doing any good. However, it is also important to note that placing too many restrictions can hamper the discovery of useful and life saving technologies. The question then remains where to draw the line. The Governments should be in touch with the latest research and developmental activities that are taking place and consult top scientists to assess the risks invloved. They must then take informed decision which would allow the scientifc community to make important discoveries but also limit the potential threats.