Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study

Courses taken at university becomes foundation for one's professional life. During their time at university, students discover an area which interests them and decide to pursue it further and major in them. Most students, who are very focused on their field of study, go on to take courses only from that field. However, by doing so they might miss out on some courses which are not directly related to their field but could help them in their professional lives. The prompt suggests that the universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. I strongly agree with this suggestion for the reasons described below.

We live in an increasingly interconnected world. Different fields of study might be isolated in universities, whereas in the real world, they all depend on each other. Consider for example construction. Constructing a building involves various fields to come together - civil engineering for doing the basic structural design, architecture to give it an aesthetic look and electrical engineering for planning out all the electrical wirings throughout the building. A student who is studying civil engineering might want to focus only on courses that fall under his field of study. But making them take some basic courses in architecture and electrical engineering would make them a better a civil engineer because they would be able to better communicate with people working on these fields and thus take better decisions. Therefore, it is important for the universities to make it mandatory to take courses from other fields.

Moreover, we often overlook how our knowledge in a certain unrelated subject might come to our help in our field of study. Steve Jobs audited the calligraphy course while he was at university. After co-founding Apple, he went on to work in the computer industry. It might not have been obvious how a calligraphy course would help him in any way in the technology sector. But it inspired him to create beautiful typography for the Apple computer, and the rest is history. Students who are focused only on their field of study might fail to draw inspiration from different fields and come up with new things. Therefore, making them take courses from other fields will help them further in their field of study.

One might argue that if a student is clear about his choices, then the university should not make them take courses which are unrelated to their field. However, a college student might not have enough maturity to think long term. For example, a mechanical engineering student might fail to see how an economics course would help them become a better mechanical engineer. But once they have spent enough time in the industry and are now in the position which involves decision-making, the economics course that they took in college would help them make better cost-benefit analysis and thus contribute better to their company. Students left to their own might not realize the importance of taking courses outside their field of study, therefore it is important that the universitites mandate it.

Overall, we see that making students take courses outside of their field of study is beneficial to them. Although the benefits might not be obvious in the short term, the dots get connected only in the long term and a knowledge in a very oblique area might come to their help in an unimaginable way. Without making it mandatory, many students would miss out on this. Leaving the choice to students whether to take outside courses or not is not prudent, since students do not generally know what is good for them in the long term. It is the responsibility of the universities to better prepare their students for the outside world, and therefore it is necessary to make them take courses outside their field of study.