To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

When we think of a country, the first thing that comes to our mind is one of it's major city. Be it Mumbai when it comes to India, New York City for USA and Tokyo in case of Japan. We can usually find a wide variety of people living together and doing different kinds of work in major cities. Therefore, in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, studying its major cities is very important.

Major cities reveal the dynamics between various sections of the society. Consider the case of Mumbai. One one place there is the infamous Dharavi slum, where thousands of people are living in dearth conditions doing menial jobs. On the other hand, Mumbai is also the adobe of some of the India's richest people, living in sky-high sea-facing apartments. However, when it comes to celebrating festivals, such as Holi, we see different groups of people forgetting their differences and celebrating together. The dynamics between these two extreme groups of people can only be found in a city like Mumbai. Therefore by studying Mumbai, one of the major cities of India, one can know so many things about the Indian society, especially the different living conditions and occupations of people, and how they all live together co-operating with each other.

Moreover, A major city is also a cultural melting pot. New York City, where one can find a culmination of different cultures across the world, says so much about America's immigrant friendly attitude and how they have welcomed and accepted different cultures to be thier own. By understanding New York City , one can learn so much about how the different groups of immigrants from different countries, be it Korean, Chinese or Indians have shaped the American culture. To understand the most important characteristics of American society, studying New York City is essential.

However, inorder to get a complete picture of a society, one cannot ignore lesser known cities or villeges. By studying the villeges, one can learn a lot about history of a society, such as certain traditions which could only be found in villeges and would have disappeared in major cities. Therefore only studying major society wouldn't paint a complete picture. But, without studying major cities, one would miss a lot of important aspects. Therefore anyone willing to understand the most important characteristics of a society should study a wide variety of cities and villeges, but they cannot ignore the major cities.

In conclusion, studying major cities of a society is essential to understand its most important characteristics. The major cities, being a melting pot of culture and a place where a variety of people live doing a diverse set of jobs, reveal a great deal of information about the society. However, just studying the major cities isn't enough to get a complete picture of society. But it is a must if one is to understand the most important characteristics.