The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is not uncommon that youths are one of the most easily influenced age-group. Recently, youths are known to widely dominate both the virtual and non-virtual world. The state of culture and youth embodiment of their various contemporary culture differ greatly and are interpreted based on the development and/or ignorance of said culture. The statement encourages the analysis of youths as an effective method in understanding contemporary culture. In my opinion, I disagree with the prompts for two reasons.

To begin, the world as it stands is currently advancing on the 'technology-front'. The progression of technology through the 2000s has led to the introduction of social medias which serves as a bridge to link and connect people from all over the world. This development has encouraged exposure to modernized slangs and trends, peer pressure amongst youths, and ignorance of various contemporary cultures and origins. Increasing exposure to these social media has led to adaptation and incorporation of cultures. A typical example is fashion. The fashion world is very dynamic, for every season there is introduction of trends. If we were to analyze youths based on trends in fashion, the results will be misleading and will not depict the contemporary culture unless that is the stated theme.

Furthermore, youths are not as staunch in their belief and culture as older age-group. Youths tends to fight for freedom of their rights. They resist the hold of culture and follow the trends of iconoclasts that serves as their role-model. For instance, Kim kardashian is a well-known socialite. She influences millions of people from all over the world. She goes against contemporary culture structures and establishes the 'new-thing' every now and then. She is well known and unashamed of various liposuction that she has undergone. This amongst others have influenced and inspire her followers to emulate her way of life. Analyzing youths that are ardent follower of such iconoclast will not lead to understanding contemporary cultures but will only 'demoralize' and yield false interpretation of said culture.

Of course, an argument in favor of the statement is that there are various popular people who stands by contemporary cultures. but how many youths do so? Youths are easily enticed by what is 'trending' and 'freedom' than a typical 'rustic' belief. For instance, LBGTQ over the years is now well accepted and encouraged than when it was frowned upon centuries ago. Infact various movies and series tends to incorporate themes supporting LGBTQ in order to please youths and eschew unorthodox stance on the view. Therefore, analyzing the youths solely on the basis of their trends is not the best way to understand contemporary culture because 'trend' is not static, it is ever changing and will keep changing.