In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Contributions to any field of study or inquiry does not care whether a person is a novice or an expert. It generally has to do with interests, knowledge and understanding on the specified field of inquiry. The prompt seeks suggest that a beginner is more likely to make significant contributions than an expert in the field of inquiry. In my opinion, I agree with the prompt for two reasons.

A fundamental argument could be made in disagreement with the prompt, an example derived from research. an incoming PhD student with little experience does not have enough knowledge to contribute to that field of study. The student will need to get to a particular stage in that field where he/she is no longer considered a 'novice' before he/she can make significant contributions. At the start of the studies, such students is prone to mistakes, eager to learn rather than being concern with contributions. In this case the supervisor or so-called expert is there to guide the students and correct he/she where necessary.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned example, a situation could be that a particular supervisor/expert has been trying to get a breakthrough in a particular research work, but couldn't place what he/she was missing, until said supervisor passes along the work done so far to her new student. The student coming with 'fresh-eye' could easily place and deduce the errors and/or provide suggestions that never crossed the supervisor mind and thus leading to a breakthrough in the work.

Another typical example is the case of teaching in high school. More often than not, 'old' teachers in the school have gotten used to a specifically teaching-system that he/she has already developed alacrity towards their teaching output. If a fresh graduate takes over the job, get a job in that school, he/she is aware of what the school need for efficient teaching due to the recent knowledge gotten from their studies. Such graduate will definitely contributes ways to which the system of said school needs in order to improve. Such new teacher will make inquiries in addition to her knowledge knowledge on ways by which the school needs to become better with their system. Also, the new teacher may become more relatable to students and assist in ways to ensure better teaching output in the school.

In conclusion, contributing significant conclusion to a field of study could stem from a beginner, as stated in the examples above. A beginner brings to the table fresh and innovative ideas that help improve a particular field of study.