The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching is an act that encompasses disseminating information to a group of students or learners with the aim of elucidating a particular knowledge to them. Teaching may be generally carried out passively or actively depending on the teacher's innate or acquired method of teaching. The prompt seek suggests that teachers should praise positive actions only while overlooking negative actions. In my opinion, the best way to teach should be in form of embracing positive actions while pointing out negative ones to leave room for improvement.

A fundamental argument in favor of the recommendation would be in the area that praising positive trait will end up becoming the major strength of the learner. For instance, a football player who is good at dribbling and scoring goal but doesn't how to possess ball is encouraged to take the fotball striker position in hopes that he/she would rake-in goals that will favor the team. The coach will probably overlook his weakness and put him in the position of a striker during a match and depend on his other teammates to cover-up his weekness. In a situation like this, the negative action can be easily ignored, provided that there are other teammate that are very good at possessing ball and passing it on to the striker who is better at dribbling and scoring. Hence, a win-win situation.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned example above, in a scenario where during an ongoing match, the major defender or mid-fielder of the team is issued a red card and have to leave the match, this will leave the team in a minus-one situation. They will need to re-strategize in order to still remain in control of the match. If that striker who is good at scoring goal has been working on his possession skills instead of ignoring it, then he is likely to have improved and not feel the loss of a member, hence, keeping the team at the top of their game as the absence of the mid-fielder won't be thoroughly felt. However, if the coach ignored the striker weakness, then the team will most likely lose the game in bad way. This scenario show how nothing is predictable, and how ignoring the negative actions might end up becoming detrimental.

Another typical example is the case of a teacher who teaches eight graders and his surrounded by many students. In her classroom, there is supposedly one student who is good at mathematics but doesn't know how to read. The students would like to be a mathematician in the future, and the teachers sees this as an armour to encourage the student to improve in his problem-solving skills while ignoring the fact that the student cannot read to understand. Without the student sedulously working on his reading skills, it will catch up with him and eventually over-shadow his problem-solving skills. Because, without being able to comprehend a question, there is no way he will know how to solve it as almost every advance mathematical problem is driven by logic reasoning. Ignoring the negative action in this case will make the student lag behind amongst his peer and probably wouldn't let him achieve his dream of being a mathematician.

Of course, positive actions in any way is laudable and should be highly embrace. However, more importantly, negative actions shouldn't be ignored, rather, it should be pointed out and worked on, as it tends to sometimes damage both the reputation of the learner and/or the teacher as stated above. Negative actions once ignored has the tendency to keep growing and getting worse. If kept ignored for a long time, it will overshadow the positive trait and even the positive actions won't seem 'positive' anymore.