The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation cantered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-cantered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the children of the Tertia were reared by their biological parents, rather than the entire community as concluded by Dr. Field research carried out twenty years ago. While it may be true that the author’s recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village does not prove that the children were reared by their biological parents. I find the evidence unconvincing on several ground.

Firstly, there is no evidence to proof that the sample interviewed by the author for this research were major children that grew up in Tertia, that is, the majority of children interviewed could have been other children from the Island and only few from Tertia.

Additionally, the fact that the children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village could be as a result of questions asked during the interview. In other words, the graduate team of interviewers might have asked more about questions directed towards their biological parents rather than question about their upbringing.

Also, the article shows that the Dr.Field carried out the research about Tertia Island’s children twenty years ago, that children were reared by entire village, although without strong evidence to back the claim. For example, evidence such as no one can claim being the rightful owner of any child, or that the entire village is responsible for up keeping of the children such as; financing, believe and moral ethics.

Furthermore, the author neglect the fact that Dr. Field carried out the research twenty years ago. The authors assume that there has not been any difference or changes in the culture of the Tertia Island in the space of time and therefore proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation cantered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well.

In summary, for the author to prove that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid, there must be strong evidence to proof that the children of Tertia Island were raised by their parents. Evidence such as interviewing people born twenty years ago in Tertia Island, interviewing them about the person responsible for their up keeping in term of finance, moral ethics, believe (religion) and so, on.