Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the next 10 years, based on current trends. The new student body is expected to reflect a much higher percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus, students will find it much more advantageous to make use of the facilities on campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.

The author is in favor of the construction of a new recreational facility in Tusk University because the author believes that the new recreational facility can serve the needs of current students and attract prospective students. However, the author assumed that students will use this recreational facility after it has been built and overlooked other factors that attract students, such as competitive programs, attractive scholarships, and intellectual teachers. Therefore, the assumptions of the author are flawed.

Tusk University is expected to enroll more students in the future, and the author used this information to claim that more students will make current facilities inadequate. However, the author has not provided supporting evidence, such as the capacity and usage of current facilities. Suppose, for example, only a quarter of all students use the equipment in recreational facilities. In theory, current recretional facilities would still have vacancies even if the number of students enroled by Tusk University was doubled. The author should provide more evidence, such as the proportion of new students who intend to use new facilities, to support the assumption of the author.

The author stated that students would use the new facility because the cost of health and recreation clubs nearby has increased in recent years. By making this assertion, the author is assuming that students would switch over from these clubs to the new recreational facility to reduce their expenditure. However, the author has not provided data regarding the current number of students who visit these clubs. If current students do not have club membership for these clubs, then the establishment of a new recreational facility would not cause students to change their membership and students might not find the new facility financially advantageous.

Diverse factors influence the decision of prospective students, and the author has argued that a new recreational facility would attract such students. This statement is not entirely incorrect, but by making this statement, the author has overlooked other factors such as programs and scholarships. Students might have chose Tusk University because it offers full scholarships to its students. In that case, the new recreational facility would be an additional bonus for students but it would not be the main incentive for students to enroll in Tusk University.

In conclusion, the author has advocated for a new recreational facility in Tusk University because the author believes that the new facility will better serve the needs of students, provide an affordable alternative, and attract gifted students. However, the author made erroneously assumed that studnets demand the new facility and the new facility is the priority of gifted students. Consequently, the author made flawed assumptions.